Lib Dem wins London Marathon!

Nik Darlington 10.32am

The Liberal Democrats don’t win many things these days but one of the party’s backbenchers led the field of MPs in yesterday’s Virgin London Marathon.

Greg Mulholland romped home in 3 hours 42 minutes, thirteen ahead of his closest challenger and fellow marathon veteran, Ed Timpson.

It is probably not a portent for the next general election, but here is the full list of MPs with their times from the official results page:

  • Greg Mulholland (LD, Leeds NW) - 3h 42
  • Ed Timpson (C, Crew & Nantwich) - 3h 55
  • Alun Cairns (C, Vale of Glamorgan) - 4h 03
  • Chris Kelly (C, Dudley S) - 4h 17
  • Jack Lopresti (C, Filton & Bradley Stoke) - 4h 22
  • Graham Evans (C, Weaver Vale) - 4h 46
  • Ed Balls (L, Morley & Outwood) - 5h 31

Making Mr Mulholland’s feat all the more impressive is that he had already run the Paris Marathon last weekend, before setting out on a 600-mile bicycle ride from Yorkshire to London, in aid of the Jane Tomlinson Appeal 10th Anniversary Challenge.

Alun Cairns finished impressively in just over 4 hours having aimed to complete the 26 miles and 325 yards course in something closer to four-and-a-half hours.

And shadow chancellor Ed Balls thanked the crowds for getting him home in his target time of five-and-a-half hours.

As someone who ran their third (and final!) marathon yesterday, I know that it is the slow plodders like Mr Balls who deserve our most respect. I will always maintain that anyone can do a marathon, and while few can do it quickly, it takes a different strength entirely to drag yourself across the finish line after so many hours of running.

Well done to everyone who took part, on what was a perfect morning for running. And thank you to the crowds, who truly did get us all home.

Follow Nik on Twitter @NikDarlington